Saving My Life

I’ve come to realise at 46 and around 25 stone that it’s time to do something. I have children, I don’t want them burying me because I couldn’t take control of myself. I don’t want to miss out on anymore of life with them because I’m ashamed to go out in public.

I got this way through the usual excuses… illness, depression that’s true but on top of that heap laziness, denial and self induced depression because the fatter I got the more depressed I got.

Not any more this is going to be taken in hand and it all starts now… not Monday, not after Easter, but now.

I’ve always yo-yo’d throughout my life, I’ve never been anywhere near this big. 20 stone was a definite threshold I was never going over… but I did.

Don’t berate me, I hate myself enough already, I know what I am and what I’m not and I’ve got a response to any argument that says I’m a waste of space or an unworthy human so save it.

This blog is about me healing myself, because I am sick, this is a disease, I’m obese, morbidly obese and I’m doing something about it.

I’m going to map my journey and share my thoughts on how I got here and how I’m not going back and you might be surprised to find out things about me along the way, I’m not a stereotypical fat lazy sloth of a gal, I’m not ignorant, I’m not on benefits, I’m not a useless parent, I’ve not always been this way and I’m determined to not be this way for much longer.

I can’t find scales to weigh myself on so we’re not having a weight, I’m going to chart my journey in pictures but they will only be uploaded at the end of each 6 months, although I will take them every month. That can be my first target; to lose enough weight for the scale to cope with me then we can stop guessing and start using real  numbers. In the meantime we’ll chart my progress with physical changes I see and feel in myself, with comments from other people and in the improvement of my overall mental well being.

I have no long term target. I want to be fit and healthy and I want fitness to be a part of my life forever. If I was to set a long term target it would be to feel comfortable in a smart work suit and heels again and not feel like I was strapped into a straight jacket or that my arms had been surgically shortened due to the restriction of the fabric stretched across my fat back.

I want to wear a bra without it cutting into me and my fat spilling over the top. I want to move easily and not panic when I drop something on the ground. I don’t want to break into a sweat climbing one flight of stairs I don’t want to hurt from hauling my fat ass from the lounge to the kitchen. I don’t want to worry about waking up again in the morning when I go to bed at night and my kids finding me dead.

No one wants that, not even a fat lazy lump like me.

It starts now… I tell you more tomorrow.

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Saving My Life”

    1. I have, I don’t even really think much about what I eat any more, I’m going to blog about that as I just feel it’s become a habit which is exactly what I have striven to achieve all of these years. The benefits are all so much more than about weight loss the mental and emotional changes are the most significant.

      Like

Comments make blogging more fun

