Today… what I ate and how I feel

So today was the beginning. I checked out the scales and no, they won’t give me a reading, they say ERR. In other words I’m too heavy for them to work out how heavy I am. I’ll keep trying, maybe once a week to save me feeling disheartened on a daily basis.

I had some before photos taken. I was dressed in indoor slob clothes, mis matched, ill fitting, no make up, just a mess basically but this is what I am right now and I want to look at the before and after photos and not just see weight loss I want to see a new person, a fresh life, something totally different not just slimmer. I want to see a personality change, an outlook change and I think I can get that across in a photo. I don’t have the confidence to put them on here yet besides I want anyone reading this who has been there, is there or is going there a chance to imagine how I look based on my self descriptions and to have a slight sense of expectation about the changes that have happened. I want a bit of a shock factor. I hope this is the right way to go about this. I think it is based on something I’ve seen before, it worked for them and it worked for me in terms of inspiration.

OK so today I ate this for breakfast:

It’s just porridge, done on the hob, a mug of milk, half a mug of organic oats, a hand full of dried cranberries and dried apricots thrown in during the cooking to add some sweetness and then some more sprinkled on top. It was gorgeous. It was filling and it kept me going through to lunch no problems.

Image

I ate this for lunch (apologies for the blurred photo):

Image

I have a problem with portion size and I’m not tackling that yet, I eat a lot so rather than starve myself with tiny portions I’m eating huge portions of things that are good for me. It’s better than what I was doing before and I really do need those nutrients by the bucket load. I have a whole ton of free radicals that need blasting away that may have already done who knows what damage to my body. This was just layered up, started with shredded iceberg lettuce, sliced up some chunky cucumber a couple of nice big vine tomatoes, a big boiled beetroot, a hand full of chick peas, a red pepper, a tin of tuna in spring water (drained) and a swirl of very low fat mayo and a fresh lemon squeezed over the whole thing. It was delicious and I only managed half of it before I had to admit defeat. Maybe tackling portion size isn’t going to be so hard.

I’m putting all I know about healthy eating and weight loss into action here. I’m using lemon juice as a cleanser first thing in the morning but throughout the day too. There is a lot of cleansing to be done. I’m going for 10 a day with the fruit and veg and going for the rainbow approach of involving as many colours as I possibly can. I’m going very low on carbs right now. I know carbs are not good for me, they  boat me and do strange things to my bowel. For now they are more or less off the menu, but I did throw in a rye crisp bread for some fibre. I’m going to include beans and pulses where I can too. Including fish for the protein fix and peppers as well as other veg and fruit to form the free radical foot soldier brigade. I’m going substantial and slow burning for breakfast, even more substantial but carbless for lunch and for dinner I’m going smaller portions and a vitamin and mineral burst to surge through my insides  over night and start to heal me.

This was my dinner:

Image

 

I just peeled and chopped up a heap of fruit and threw some berries on top and that’s it. This was good to curb those TV watching munchies, it was handy being able to pick pieces up like sweets and far more refreshing. If I had some I might have thrown a probiotic yoghurt on this for the calcium fix and the good gut bacteria. I’ll have some tomorrow and I’ll have a different range of fruit and veg too.

I drank three pints of water with fresh lemon juice squeezed into it today and I’m going to have another before bed and I’m going to have a fruit tea, probably a peppermint one. So far so good. I already feel a little bit less stodgy and bloated. But I have noticed a temperature rise, I know that’s my body flushing out toxins, it happens when I juice too. It just shows how terribly unhealthy and ill my body is inside as well as out. I have a slight headache too but I know that will get worse over the next couple of days and then go away, that’s just something to do with going cold turkey on the chocolate and refined sugar intake.

See I know this stuff, I’m fat and lazy not stupid and ignorant. I wasn’t always like this, I used to be somebody else and I’m heading back to her. Sometimes people give me advice about diet and exercise and they don’t realise that if there is one type of person who knows what to do and what not to do when it comes to losing weight and being healthy it’s a morbidly obese person, we’ve been doing this for years, we know not only what works generically but what works specifically for us. We just need to get into the mental zone and we’re good. When someone comes up with an easy way to get into the mental zone and stay there then I’ll be all ears.

Stick with me, I’m doing this. Just like when I quit smoking nobody thought I’d do it and I did, cold turkey, quit first time 5 years ago. See I do have will power and wait until you get your first glimpse of me in 6 months time and you’ll see how much of an impact that will power will have had.

I just ordered some Kefir culture. This is how serious I am about this. I’m going to give it a go and see how I get on with it, I hear great things and will explain more when it all arrives and I start growing and ingesting the stuff.

Comments make blogging more fun

