Kefir (kee-fur)… latest miracle food

I’m open to trying anything that is low cost and which might help me feel better in any way without getting too caught up in fads.

A friend in Australia (a health food nut) was raving about the amazing effects of Kefir. She had been using it just a week and was already feeling huge health benefits. Then I took it as a sign from above when another friend (definitely not a health freak) here in the UK popped around and started raving about it too later the same day. I’d never heard of it so it was interesting that two friends on opposite sides of the planet were both enthusing about the stuff. I had to investigate.

I did some research online and decided to give it a go. I did suffer from some digestive tract issues, heartburn and symptoms of IBS as well as bloating and I have reacted well to consuming the little probiotic yoghurt type drinks in past in terms of energy levels and general sense of well being. Most of those issues have cleared already from being on this path to the new me but there were other benefits I couldn’t ignore.

One of my brother’s died young from bowel cancer and so colon and bowel health are really uppermost in my mind with it being a cancer known to have genetic connections (nobody else in the super huge family ever had it but that’s not to say it wasn’t around somewhere or isn’t around somewhere). Clearly sibling genetics are potentially the most similar in that they are made up of a combination of two unique sets of chromosomes and so we have to consider that one of us could also wind up facing a similar fate. I figured anything which might stave that off and improve my bowel health can only be good.

So… gosh I need to learn to keep to the point…I bought some Kefir culture. I bought it over ebay, it cost £2.00, free postage, came next day and looked just like this:

kefir-grains1

It was packaged up in a tiny zip lock bag and then inserted in another larger zip lock bag and then all of that was inside a padded envelope. It was all in tact and smelled like fresh yoghurt when I opened it. I had read about what to do with it so I dropped it into a jar of milk (I can’t bring myself to use whole milk recommended as the ideal but I did use half-fat), screwed on the lid, left it in a warmish place out of the sunlight went back and agitated it twice over the 24 hour period and released the cap when I realised that it was growing tighter due to the emissions from the liquid.

This morning I strained it through muslin cloth (purpose bought for the task, I got a meter of the stuff and cut it into big squares so I could strain, wash and re-use) and drank it.

It was totally disgusting. Sour, frothy fermented milk, very barely tasting of yoghurt. I have been sent an ebook telling me how to make it taste better so I need to read that quick!

My culture had grown in size as it is supposed to which indicated to me that it was fermented appropriately.

Now the culture is in a bigger jar so that tomorrow everyone can have some… the kids are going to LOVE this one (demonic laugh).

I’ll keep you posted on how it goes, my plan is to drink it every day and wait for the effects to start making themselves known.

Here’s some info on it if you’re interested:

http://www.myyogaonline.com/healthy-living/health-and-wellness/the-health-benefits-of-kefir

http://nationalkefirassociation.com/HealthandWellness.aspx

Live culture is easier to come by in the States and Australia (from what I’ve seen on the internet) but it is possible to find in the UK, if you want some and are prepared to wait a few weeks I should be able to send some myself. It’s a bit like sour dough where you need a friend to give you a starter and then you make your own and spread the love. If you can’t wait I got mine here: http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/301120763559?ssPageName=STRK:MEWNX:IT&_trksid=p3984.m1439.l2649

You can buy ready made Kefir fruit drinks in supermarkets (not sure which ones I’ve never seen it but then it is a pretty new thing in the UK by the looks of it) but it has to be better to make your own, you know what is in it and it’s so much cheaper.

14 thoughts on “Kefir (kee-fur)… latest miracle food”

    1. I don’t think so. You don’t consume the ‘grains’ which are like a soft cauliflower or a dryish cottage cheese. They infuse the milk. It’s recommended to use a full fat milk but I used half fat and it worked fine… I think.

      Evidently a good indicator that it’s working is if the culture grows and if there is a light froth and stringiness to the liquid (all present in mine this morning).

      You strain out the grains/spores and then use the left over milk and reuse the spores. If you wrap in muslin and squeeze gently it gets them as dry as possible.

      You can drink the milk as is or you can add to smoothies, cook with it (although I’d imagine that kills off it’s goodness) flavour it with sugar or fruits.

      It’s not that bad to be honest, it tastes like tepid, sweet yoghurt that has been left to stand in a warm place. If you use muslin to strain it it’s nice and fluid and doesn’t have lumps or strands.

      I hear (from my Aussie friend with 5 little kids) that it works wonders for energy levels, that is one of the benefits I’m hoping to reap.

      I’ll keep updating any benefits I notice although with my huge lifestyle change they may not be as obviously directly attributable to the kefir as they may be otherwise.

      We’ll see 😀

      Like

    1. My son watched me drink it and said “I think this could possibly kill you mummy, you’re drinking rotten milk”. It hasn’t done that yet. I’ve not turned into Wonder Woman either which is what I was secretly hoping for.

      I’m going to look for any changes to my appetite and any changes in my energy levels. Although as my whole lifestyle has changed it may be hard to pin the benefits down to the Kefir but it’s cheaper than those little probiotic drinks so I’ll stick with it I guess and at least I’m getting my share of dairy.

      Like

  1. I’ve had Kefir before but I like Kombucha better. Its a probiotic as well but I like the taste better than Kefir. I don’t know about there, but here I can find both in the local grocery stores. I noticed a big difference from drinking them. Good luck with them! Lol.

    Like

    1. Thank you! Glad to hear another supporter.

      I had never heard of Kombucha but came across it as I was researching Kefir. It sounded a bit more scary to home ferment.

      Do you ferment it yourself or buy it another form? I was interested in it’s detoxifying effects on the liver.

      I can see my kitchen turning into a lab haha.

      I’m looking into growing my own wheat grass and sprouting seeds.

      Maybe that’s how we should see our kitchens nowadays, somewhere to experiment and concoct healthy, healing sustenance rather than somewhere to warm up a pizza.

      Like

  2. Eeeewww that looks quite gross! I’m losing weight slowly, about half a kilo a week, and am already 16kgs down, just eating less, but not cutting out any foods.

    I love food and cooking too much to completely give up carbs or sugar or red meat etc. So instead I have smoothies for breakfast, light lunches, and indulgent meals for dinner, just on a smaller fish plate and usually with a big salad. I would rather eat a small 100g piece of steak than twice that amount of chicken with no skin! Rather a small chicken thigh with skin than a dried breast cooked in cooking spray. Life’s too short.

    Like

    1. I agree. I’m just writing my food diary from yesterday and I had a roast lamb lunch, it was delicious and I was not bypassing the thick gravy for anyone, even myself. I had a nice dollop and dipped my meat and potatoes into it rather than smothering my food in it.

      We shouldn’t deny ourselves anything.

      Kefir is gross but I would say it has had some definite benefits already. Why not look at the even more gross Kombucha post. I have that fermenting right now and the kids call it the alien in the cupboard 😀

      I don’t go for fads but Kefir is such a cheap and more healthy alternative to yakult and other brands of the same thing. It will hopefully remain a part of my diet from now on.

      Great progress so far by the way, I can’t wait until I have a loss to announce even if it’s only an ounce.

      Thank you for stopping by and leaving your thoughts

      Like

  3. Oh, I love kefir and so do my daughters. Although I have to admit, I purchase it ready-made and we don’t drink it straight up. I use it to make smoothies. This way they’re having fruit and the health benefits of kefir without them even knowing it. You should check out my Kefir-Pear Smoothie. Yum!

    Like

Comments make blogging more fun

