Apple Pie and Custard

If anyone out there has a low fat recipe for Apple Pie and Custard please share.

I am craving this so much today I can smell it everywhere I go.

Maybe stewed apples and low fat custard would cut it? But I want that crispy pastry on top and the soggy bottom pastry soaked with apple juice. What if I make a crumble? But use oats and honey for the topping instead of sugar, flour and butter?

Hmmm, I’m going to have a bit of an experiment but if anyone has any ideas pass them this way please, I am a woman on a mission.

Puddings… one of my downfalls.

9 thoughts on “Apple Pie and Custard”

  1. I don’t have a recipe, but what I do for that kind of craving is yogurt. You can cut up apple and soften it in the microwave, add to vanilla yogurt and sprinkle with some granola. Not the same, but it might help with the craving.

    Like

  2. You’re already doing what I would have suggested–making modifications. One of the things that the behavioral modification therapist always suggests is to think about the component of the food you’re craving that you really want. I love puddings too–mostly because of the texture. Here’s my favorite “diet” dessert: I take low-fat pineapple Greek yogurt, and mix it with a tablespoon of fresh blueberries. Then I take one teaspoon of graham cracker crumbs (like you’d use to make a cheese cake crust) and sprinkle that on top for a modified cheese cake.

    What if you did this for apple pie: Cut up one apple (so you don’t make too much) and cook it on the stove top with cinnamon, nutmeg, cloves, a little bit of stevia for added sweetener and a splash of water–let it cook down so the sugars in the apple make a bit of a syrup. Then add a teaspoon of chopped walnuts for some texture and top the whole thing with 2 teaspoons of graham cracker crumbs. The worst part of the pie for calories is the crust-the graham cracker crumbs are able 35 calories per tablespoon–so you wouldn’t even be getting all 35 cals. if you just did 2 teaspoons.

    I’m always trying to come up with a modification that has less calories, but a similar taste. Hope this helps. πŸ™‚

    Like

    1. That sounds great, I think it is that crunch that’s missing. So glad I’m on the right track thinking of substitutes, that’s refreshing to hear I’ve got a healthy approach mentally as I know that’s important.

      I’ll try this thanks for the recipe.

      Like

  3. You’re so welcome! Also, you’d mentioned mashed potatoes in another post–I do those with fat-free sour cream or fat-free cream cheese, instead of milk and butter. It’s less calories and you can still get a creamy consistency. πŸ™‚

    Like

Comments make blogging more fun

