Talent

Just responding to a blog comment and it made me think… I don’t reckon I have any true talents, nothing outstanding. I’m a bit of a jack of all trades, I do a mediocre job of everything I do, with some exceptions, I think I’m a really good teacher and I’m a decent enough people person and I’m not a half bad mum.

I can sing, but I’m no Celine Dion, I love gardening and growing things and put together pretty cute borders and containers, I cook and that’s OK as long as you prefer the taste to the visual. I do bits of arts and crafts, still can’t sew in a straight line though and my candle making is pretty cool but I lose patience.

I can’t draw to save my life nor paint. I’m quite good at digital document design and image manipulation and quite enjoy setting photos to music and I love taking photos but I’m not a pro.

I speak a couple of different languages and have a knack for picking a language up.. that’s probably my natural, raw talent if I think of it.

When I was a kid I wanted to be everything and I wanted to do everything and go everywhere. I’ve always been an explorer in terms of searching out cool places in my external existence but inside I do the same I want to learn, need to know, have to try.

I guess an all rounder would better suit me rather than jack of all trades, I’m not that useless and determined to keep trying out new things to enhance my insignificant experience on this planet.

Anyone have what they feel is a natural gift of a talent or is it as rare as I imagine it to be to just be amazingly good at something without trying?

 

 

7 thoughts on “Talent”

  1. I feel the same way, that I’m not an expert on any one thing. I do have varied interests, and that suits me fine. I don’t think that anyone’s experience is insignificant. They’re just different!

    Like

  2. What on earth made you feel you have to justify yourself ? We all have our own degrees of talent at this or that; and imnsho, being honest is one of the greatest !!

    Like

  3. I like this post. It was fun to learn a little more about you. I feel pretty much the same as you. I’ve never given myself enough time to develop any of my talents very far. I get bored or see something new to try or life gets in the way. The talents I had as a kid that I planned to develop got derailed by life and never really happened.

    Like

    1. I hope you get time and opportunity to try stuff out in the future. I have a friend who just found out he can paint with oils on canvas at the age of 38, he didn’t have a clue he had an artistic bone in his body. He’s produced some beautiful work.

      It’s never too late.

      Like

Comments make blogging more fun

