Insult

I nearly forgot today’s insult.

As I was walking out of the cinema there was a guy standing in a doorway of one of the other screens, he was about 5’4, bald, very overweight, wearing a scruffy off white tee-shirt and stained sweat pants and had his arm around a woman who was similar (although not bald). As I walked past, looking Β and feeling a million dollars in my crop pants and beautiful bright shirt and casual denim jacket and cute red flats with bows on the front, my lovely sun kissed, healthy, shiny, blonde hair piled up with a clip he looked at me and said quite audibly to the woman he was with “Look at the size of that” and laughed, she looked around directly at me but didn’t say anything.

I felt a bit sad and began to feel myself sink inside, but then I spotted a big mirrored wall right across the corridor from them “Take a look in there beautiful” I smiled to him and continued on my way. The slap around the chops he got from his partner was reward enough.

I really shouldn’t rise to it but I couldn’t help it, I’ve scurried off sad and stuffed my face because of comments like this for far too long.

21 thoughts on “Insult”

  1. People can be so mean–I honestly don’t understand it. Your outfit sounded adorable! When he said “Look at the size of that!” I would have been tempted to say, “I know you’re not talking about your dick, fellow!” It would have made his girlfriend wonder!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha, I’ll have to remember that one. I might have felt offended if he hadn’t been such a mess himself and his wife was wider than me for sure. Sometimes I wonder where people get their gorgeous mirrors from. I want one.

      Like

  2. and yet…guys like that have girlfriends, and I am #foreveralone.
    It is a sign of a weak person, as no one who has a strong character would push others down. Strength is about pulling others up with you, so chin up hun and rock that style.

    Like

    1. Haha thank you πŸ˜€ I don’t like insulting anyone or feeling bad thoughts knowing how it can hurt but I couldn’t help being mean back… turn the other cheek is something I tend to remember after the act. I actually felt bad in case I made him feel bad about himself or his wife but at the time it was lashing out.

      I know right about the forever alone thing. When I was having dinner with my son there were a few people came into the restaurant and some I was wonder if they were on blind dates or if they had just been together so long they didn’t care anymore or if all the guys had money. It’s so judgemental but hey, I’m human and I was so baffled. Beauty is in the eye of the beholder and for some of us love will come when we’re truly ready for it.

      Like

    1. Thank you. I’m in too much of a strong place at the minute to be brought down, I’m glad of it too as I have just started to have the confidence to go out and live again and it could have really set me back. People are so mean, they must be really unhappy to have so much hate in them.

      Like

  3. Grrrrr…it will never cease to amaze me how some people just think they can say anything they like to someone who’s overweight. As you said, the last bastion of discrimination. Sounds like he didn’t have much to be proud/conceited about appearance-wise anyway but what’s far worse is the sort of person he is, and no makeover or diet will ever change that. As for you, well, I don’t know what you look like but I just know you are beautiful on the inside as well as the outside. So glad you didn’t let this derail you because he is absolutely not worth it πŸ™‚

    Like

    1. Thank you πŸ˜€ I felt sorry for him really, I think nasty people are unhappy or bitter or have something bad going on in their lives. I hate that it’s OK to be cruel to people who are fat but lucky I have compliments to balance these things out and I’m in such a strong place emotionally right now that I don’t think this kind of thing will get to me.

      Like

  4. Your outfit sounds so cute! I love that you didn’t let his comment get you down. You’re living a very healthy life, taking care of yourself! You have a right to be proud of your efforts. Every post you write shows what great choices you are making and what a great attitude you have.

    Like

Comments make blogging more fun

