Steaming Challenge Day 1 – Reporting In

OK so I got off to an awesome start with my challenge, I forgot to take photos… actually I didn’t forget as such, my phone battery was dead and I have this amazing phone which takes a few hours to activate again once it’s ran out of charge… not like my trusty old Nokia which would work again as soon as it was plugged in. So I’m compensating with the photos and found a meal that looks something like the one I ate this evening… good old Google Images and I also found other illustrations to make my report even more appealing.

DSC_0354-Small1

So, for my challenge I’m preparing my main meal every day for 5 days using only my steamer. Already, as would be expected from me, I’ve learned some cool stuff about steaming which I will share as I ramble about my meals.

Tonight (last night but I’m still awake being nocturnal and also having just 6 hours left before my daughter leaves home – saddo me I’m sitting beside her watching her sleep) I had: Honey, chilli lime salmon with a hot green salad.

I took a nice thick line caught Scottish salmon steak (thicker than that in the picture) and I marinaded it in:

I let the salmon bathe in the marinade for a couple of hours in the fridge. I decided to make a hot salad and to do this I used the following ingredients:

I mixed up the veg and popped it into the bottom layer of the steamer and put the fish and all of its juice into the next layer up.  I wanted some of the marinade from the fish to drip through onto the hot green salad which it did. To keep the fish tasty and moist I sliced up half a lime and lay the slices on top of the fish.

It took me seconds to prepare (bar the waiting for the fish to marinade but had I been at work I could have done that the night before or in the morning and left it in the fridge)

I had popped the required amount of water into the steamer’s reservoir (filtered of course) and set the timer for 7 minutes. I quickly cleared up the tiny bit of mess that I had made and it was done! That’s less time than it would have taken for me to find the takeaway menu, choose the same thing I always used to have, make the call and grab a plate!! Come on,  this is convenience food surely… nobody can argue with that.

I tossed the hot salad a bit in the juices from the fish and then lay it out on the plate and popped the fish on top of it.

Bloody gorgeous if I do say so myself. I washed it down with a pint of filtered water with ice (made from filtered water of course) and for dessert I had a handful of berries and some peach sorbet with no added sugar.

Tomorrow it’s garlic and ginger chicken with cheesy broccoli and cauliflower florets… planning, it’s all part of winning this battle and next time there will be my own photos.

2 thoughts on “Steaming Challenge Day 1 – Reporting In”

    1. Don’t feel guilty, make a mental note to eat twice as much kale next time. I knew it was good for you and then I knew it was one of the super ingredients in Joe The Juicer’s miracle life saver but I learned something new when I read that. See, buy a steamer and look where it leads! 😀

      Like

Comments make blogging more fun

