Hands Up…

…if you have ever been on a weight loss quest and let your diet become boring and predictable?

200395417-001

I remember once I lost a huge amount of weight mostly eating tuna, beetroot and crispbread, it was easy, fast, tasty (at first) and healthy but then it started to feel like a punishment and I was stuck in a rut and so… I started eating rubbish again and lo and behold the weight piled back on.

Jacket potatoes, beans and salad… for THREE freaking months. I had no imagination and the weight was coming off but then it started to feel like a punishment and I was stuck in a rut and so… I started eating rubbish again and lo and behold the weight piled back on.

Grilled cod and a tossed salad… for TEN weeks. The weight fell off but then it started to feel like a punishment and I was stuck in a rut and so… I started eating rubbish again and lo and behold the weight piled back on.

Moroccan Mackerel Tagine for 9 weeks. I felt so healthy, the weight was coming off but then it started to… you get the picture.

Besides the boredom it wasn’t healthy I wasn’t getting a wide range of nutrients.

It’s so easy for me to fall into a food rut when I’m eating healthy but this time it’s different. I’m obsessing about food in a good way and making sure my diet is varied, exciting and interesting and now and then I have a tuna, beetroot crisp bread and I love it, or  I have a jacket potato with beans and salad and it’s deliciously filling, or I have grilled cod with a tossed salad and it is yummy or I have a Moroccan Mackerel Tagine and it is simply divine… now and again.

Variety is the spice of life and never is that more true than when you are changing your eating and lifestyle habits.

 

7 thoughts on “Hands Up…”

    1. Definitely, I’m noticing when mine starts to become samey and trying to notch it up now and then. Mind you when I was eating unhealthily I did the same, I think my quite large repetoire was probably condensed to 4 or 5 regular dishes but then the takeaways helped to add variety… even then though I always chose the same thing.

      Like

  1. Both my hands are up! Anyone else remember some of the old school delight diets like the Israeli Army Diet? Wasn’t that two days of apples, two days of cheese, two days of chicken and two days of salad? What sort of sadist thought THAT one up? Thankfully I was too young to have tried it. And in Australia we used to have these biscuits called Limmits. For breakfast and lunch you would have two Limmits and then you’d eat a normal meal at night. People actually did lose weight doing this. Call me crazy, though, but I have an idea that might have been because two meals a day consisted of two little biscuits and nothing else. Radical, I know…haha!

    Like

    1. I remember Limmits, my sister used to have them we called them poo crackers as kids as they were disgusting, not sure they were the same things you had over there, these were two biscuits sandwiching something unmentionable and were perhaps the first weight loss fad I ever saw.

      Did you see one of the comments further up on this thread? I laughed for half an hour over it, the one about carrots and turning orange.

      Crazy what we do but people are still doing it! With the access to all of the information we have we are still following fads and deprivation diets… my daughter’s FB account is full of young girls spending hundreds of pounds on the ghastly Aloe Vera plan. They’re literally running to the loo to vom after they’ve unsuccessfully managed to stomach the vile liquid and then they’re raving about having lost 2 pounds, now wonder they are starving! What an industry.

      Like

      1. Poo crackers…LOL! Yep, sounds like the same ones, although I don’t remember them tasting so bad?

        And I did read the comment about turning orange…cracked me up too! The things we do! And as for those poor young girls taking something that makes them chuck, that’s just sad. The diet industry has so many crimes to answer for.

        Like

Comments make blogging more fun

