Forward Planning, the Darkness is Coming

39541275.DarkWinterDayI’ve mentioned this a few times lately, how I don’t get along well with the winter and it’s on the way. The nights are already setting in earlier and the sun is struggling to get up before me. Soon it will be wake in the dark, leave the house in the dark, come home in the dark and rarely set eyes on daylight other than through a window.

 

I remember lines of nappies from all the big neighbourhood families when I was a little girl, it used to smell fabulous
I remember lines of nappies from all the big neighbourhood families when I was a little girl, it used to smell fabulous

In some respects I do love the changing season from sunny warm to dark and cold, I love the smell of people coming in from the cold, or of washing that’s been blown about in a cold wind. I love autumn colours, I love the chill air and the way it tightens the skin and makes everyone look younger and how we all glow rosie cheeked and bright eyed when we get into the warm. I love closing the curtains early, having the fire on and snuggling down with blankies and soft lighting. I even find the bleakness of winter uniquely beautiful.

I used to love being able to hide my fatness under a big coat somehow thinking it had magical properties like Harry Potter’s cloak of invisibility and no one would notice me hiding in it and a big hat and scarf and gloves, I would feel anonymous.

I don’t like getting out of bed in the winter and I like getting into bed really early and I don’t feel too positive in winter, I get a little bit gloomy.

stewanddumplingsI also love hot chocolate, cakes, stews with big stodgy dumplings, creamy soups, hot fresh baked bread, steamed puddings with custard, pies, creamed potatoes and thick onion gravy, Yorkshire puddings, toad in the hole, shepherds pie… oh gosh what am I going to do?

Right I’ll tell you what I’m going to do I’m going to plan so that I don’t fall off the wagon. I know this is going to be tough, I’m being real about it and so I can fore-arm myself. there is no use me finding myself in March having undone all of my hard work planningand bleating about the winter having being hard for me, I know that now, I don’t need to wait for March to discover that so I have to think now while we still have light and warmth about how I’m going to manage this.

First of all … exercise. I’ve decided to switch my exercise around, instead of gym and Darren in the mornings I’m going to go to him in the evening straight after work. In the morning I’m going to either ride my bike to work the long way round if it’s not raining or walk. This will take planning in itself as I’ll have to try to make sure I don’t have tons of ‘stuff’ to cart to work and back. But I have a plan for that and it involves being super organised something I can do. I’ll also have to try my best to keep work to the office and not bring it home so much. My earlier arrival at work each day should give me opportunity to do more of that as long as I’m left to it which I should be at that time.

I’m going to Darren after work because I don’t want to go home, have dinner too early and then sit wanting winter snacks all night. This is where my food planning links in too. I’m going to have breakfast at work, keeping cereal there and milk and some flax, I’ll OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAhave my range of drinks and mixtures before I leave home but the main meal will happen once I get to work. I’m going to go right back to the basics I used when the kids were little and I had no time to do anything and spend Sunday cooking and portioning up meals for the week for myself and the growing lad.  I have gathered wholesome soup recipes, vegetarian blogs are great for winter warmer recipes that are tasty, nourishing and low in the bad stuff… salt, sugar, fat.

So I’m going to cook up batches on a Sunday and freeze in portions to warm up at work02-13-133 and also continue with my mountain of fruit in my office.

I will also have a snack before I leave for the gym which will be something like a rye crisp bread or a pitta with some tuna or cottage cheese.

In the morning I will have popped something into the slow cooker, meat and veg, casserole of some kind, pot roast, veggie chilli maybe, sometimes I will have the growing 771-8362_PI_TPS1972084lad pop jacket potatoes into the oven as instructed so that when I get home from the gym starving I can shower and eat something good and filling. I’ve sought out recipes for alternatives of my favourites too and I’ve tried out an apple crumble type affair with a fat free custardy yoghurt which was delicious so that’s on the menu and an apple pie with only a thin bottom of pastry, just healthier variations on things I like so I’m not denying myself those tastes altogether. By the way, please please please feel free to add any links to recipes, blog posts or anything which will give me and anyone reading this more ideas for more healthy winter warmer options.

After dinner I’ll be busy with so many things, courses, blogging, planning, reading and if I get hunger pangs I’ll do a quick dance as distraction therapy and then take myself off to bed. I’m also gathering all manner of bubble baths and soaks and face masks and hair masques (must be with the que for some unknown reason) foot soaks, nail polishes so that I can also give myself a spa treatment at home, soaking in a nice hot bath, breathing in sweet smells, burning candles, music on… anything that will make me feel great and stop me wanting food.

As we obviously haven’t moved as was planned and this house is too big I have begun to turn one of the spare rooms upstairs into a dressing boudoir, gosh I love that word far too much. It’s one of my Hyacinth Bucket words see below for the lady herself in action.

(

)

The boudoir won’t be somewhere I sleep but I love the word and I’m going to make it my little luxurious, opulent over the top space where I get to indulge myself. It’s going to be all mine and after sharing your home with people all of your life you kind of get to a point where you deserve your own space. It shall be the home of my pampering products028_LHS03_velvet_1, complete with comfy recliner chair salvaged from the lounge clear out and soft lighting salvaged from my daughter’s bedside tables. I thought giving myself a room to go to and relax in and feel shit in if I want to where there is no food allowed might help, it works in mental health wards to calm patients so it might work for me.

ecomproducts-img1-3132I have installed an anti-SAD lamp in my office at home so that I can expose myself to some pretend daylight while I spend time in here blogging or whatever.

I think I’m ready. I have a few trips stacking up too this side of Christmas with my kids to keep the weekends and half term busy. I reckon those things should help keep spirits high and with the food and exercise planning I really hope that I can get through the winter having continued to lose weight or having at least not gained any.

Planning to avoid or avert danger is so important for me, keeping busy, keeping active, images (2)keeping happy are all going to be integral to success and once we get past the winter then I reckon as the sun starts to shine earlier and later again I might be at a point where a good run over summer should see me doing really well in terms of reaching the end goal, I may have smashed a few more targets.

I was reading today about women usually gaining weight in the summer due to BBQ’s ice cream and more alcohol but summer’s always been an easy time for me to lose weight, that’s why I think I started at just the right time and gave myself a long run to get this  new lifestyle embedded. I really do not want to lose the plot now.

Get planning for those danger zones, whether they are seasons, holidays, weekends, events like weddings or birthdays, parties, pregnancy, recovery from operations/illnesses. I’m hoping that at the end of all this to maintain myself I will have a folder of contingency plans at my disposal to dip into when something tricky is approaching, because this will never end, it will always be a battle and I don’t know about you but I always want to be winning and the best warriors have the best plans.

Comments make blogging more fun

