Healthy Christmas A-Z Part 2

I’m up to E on this series of posts on how I intend to keep on the healthy side of life as I make my way through the valley of temptation which is Christmas.

E is for Effervescence

A dictionary definition of the word for this letter is:

1.bubbles in a liquid; fizz.

2.vivacity and enthusiasm.

For my Christmas coping mechanism I’m going to employ both of these meanings. I don’t really drink much alcohol but as it’s Christmas I’m going to indulge myself a little and as I often advocate if you are going to indulge a little think of quality rather than quantity and savour it, plan your moment of indulgence and prepare for it, make it an event not something which you just do without even taking a moment to enjoy it. My fizzy quality this year is going to come from some very nice champers. Just the one bottle which will be consumed slowly, perfectly chilled and in good company on Christmas Day in the evening… shared of course. Knowing I have a lovely indulgent treat to look forward to later on will help me to resist temptation throughout the day.

Also when I’m having a juice, either home made or otherwise, I often find that adding sparkling water to it gives it a little zing and makes it feel more like a carbonated drink. I do miss carbonated drinks but avoid them these days as I know they’re not the best thing to be swigging back by the litre, even the sugar free varieties. But if I add a little carbonated water to a juice or drink naturally fizzy home brewed Kombucha I get that little sparkly treat and don’t miss diet coke so much. Even a glass of sparkling water when dining out, entertaining at home or at parties with a lemon wedge really feels better than a regular glass of the still stuff and just makes you feel less of a freak when in company and everyone else is bandying about their alcohol.download (1)

The second meaning of effervescence is going to help me through Christmas as I am not going to dwell on what I can’t have or do and focus on the great things I’ve achieved and the fabulous energy I’m filled with. I don’t want to trade that off for slothfulness and bloated over indulgence, I want to keep this energy and vivacity going and so I’m going to carry on moving and keeping my energy levels up. Exercise is not going to fall by the way side and I’m going to set an example to everyone else and get them out moving and doing things rather than sitting face stuffing.

I think it’s important to keep those energy levels up, it is so easy to fall into a sedentary lifestyle at this time of year, especially if you are off work, if it’s cold, if you have visitors or you are visiting and we all know how hard it can be to get back on track, so the easiest way to keep on track is to not get off it in the first place.

When I’m in danger of feeling resentful that I can’t scoff myself silly I’m going to remember how I’ve made myself feel, I’m going to remember the enthusiasm I have for being slim and I’m going to keep myself upbeat and bubbly and be happy about my achievements and my choices and remind myself I can scoff myself silly if I want but that it will dampen my new found effervescence, my excitement to be alive and I don’t want to lose that, I know thinking like this will have me winning.

F is for Failure

tumblr_mjd5wsnOGZ1qkhwxvo1_500There is no such thing, failure is not an option. If I do fall victim to temptation one day I will accept that I am a human and I will accept that this is what normal people do, they over indulge at this time of year, a vast percentage of them admit that they gain weight at this time of year. I will move on from it and not beat myself up about it, it will only really be a failure if I allow it to change me back to the way I was, if I let it hold me back from making progress. If I fall today I will come back tomorrow stronger and I will work extra hard to correct the wrong I did, I’ll eat even more healthily and I’ll exercise for a few minutes more. I will not beat myself up about it, I will accept that it happened and that fortunately over eating is a mistake I can undo.

Don’t let a little blip ruin all of the good work you’ve done. Avoid it if you can but if it happens roll with it.

G tomorrow for Goose 

Comments make blogging more fun

