Do It Like a Marine – Ready made fitness plan

One of my son’s friends wants to go into the Royal Navy when he is 18 and they were chatting today about what the fitness requirements may be, so I went online and did a bit of research and we found out. Not only did we find all of the info we needed we found this fab Get Fit To Join The Royal Navy booklet with a fab fitness plan all laid out.

So the boys have decided to make this their ‘get buff for summer’ approach starting tomorrow. I’m hoping they take it beyond the summer and either use this as their fitness benchmark or they continue to develop their fitness in a healthy and purposeful way after completing this. I’m sure it will do the boy who wants to go into the forces good to have a few friends on the programme with him and the team spiritedness of the approach and no doubt a bit of competition won’t do any harm in helping him achieve his fitness goals. We’ve suggested they get sponsors and raise a bit of money for a forces related charity like Help the Heroes or such while they are at it as that may ensure that they endure to the end.  They’re going to get on with sorting that out tomorrow too.

I’m tempted to have a go myself and join them even if not actually with them as such but alongside them hidden away somewhere at different times of the day. I just thought this is a good idea for anyone who is trying to energise a teen or get them fitter and taking more care of themselves or as a family project even and especially for someone who wants to or may want to join a profession where physical fitness is going to be an assessed must.

It’s also a fun way to just build fitness and stamina, strength and ability really and if you’re lost as to where to start, or looking for a progressive programme which takes in cardio and strength, fitness and endurance and a range of exercise including swimming, running/walking, resistance training then this might be an idea for you, or an adaptation of this maybe.

Sometimes Always I find that making exercise fun, making it a social activity, making it just for fun competitive, making it about improvement and progression, giving it a goal, time limiting it, making it about raising money or awareness for a good cause… all of those things make it more fun and the more fun it is the more likely we are to do it.

3 thoughts on “Do It Like a Marine – Ready made fitness plan”

  1. I got into the Royal Marines quite a few years back when I was 21, it’s tough! The 4 days down are Lympstone are very difficult but it also gives you a great insight to military life. Their get fit plan is great too, if a little excessive, but it’s great to see kids getting into exercise especially nowadays. Nice post

    Liked by 1 person

    1. They’re keen this morning they were up early ready to start before school. I think it’s a good way to get them motivated they seemed to like the idea of the challenge and knowing they’d be fit enough for the forces kind of seems to have given their virility a boost. Well done you getting in, I watched the recent documentary and it looked gruelling down there…bottom field looked hell and that was without the exercises and the treks. Were you into fitness before or is it something you took seriously because you wanted to be a marine?

      Like

      1. Yeah, its a really good way to get them motivated, its good to see commitment from them. If they are starting now they’d have no problem getting in. I didn’t take the job offer in the end, I completed all the fitness test, the other standards, test and the 4 days down at Lympstone (which was physically still to this day the hardest thing I’ve ever done) passed everything but ended up turning it down as a I got better job offer. I do sometimes wish I’d have taken it though, just for the travelling 🙂

        Yeah I was always into fitness since I was 15, and I applied when I was 20, then all the tests and application process took nearly a year so I was 21 when I actually got the job offer.

        Even though I was into fitness quite young I didn’t really ‘Step up my game’ until I applied. The Training Tool the Royal Marines provide is great but its very hard. Good luck to the lads!

        Liked by 1 person

Comments make blogging more fun

